Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Instagram Rss YouTube
Get news and offers Search...

Fri 11 May 2018

Wiltshire Music Centre, Bradford-on-Avon

Haydn’s Nelson Mass

Book now

Haydn Nelson Mass
Haydn Symphony No 1
Haydn Symphony No 104

John Butt conductor
Charlotte Beament soprano
Ciara Hendrick mezzo-soprano
James Way tenor
Laurence Williams bass
Alumni of the Choir of Clare College, Cambridge

The so-named Nelson Mass is arguably Haydn’s greatest composition and the original title Missa in Angustiis (‘Mass for times of distress’) reflects the uncertain times of 1797 and the composer’s intense fear for the future of Austria.

Read More