Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Instagram Rss YouTube
Get news and offers Search...

Fri 3 May 2019

Wiltshire Music Centre, Bradford-on-Avon

Bach: Three Suites

Time: 7:30pm

Admission: £17-£34

Venue website: view

Venue telephone: 01225 860100

Book now Close

Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3
Bach Concerto for oboe d'amore
Bach Orchestral Suite No. 2
Bach Orchestral Suite No. 1

Margaret Faultless director/ violin
Katharina Spreckelsen oboe d'amore
Katy Bircher flute

Bach achieved a perfect balance of pleasure and precision with his set of Orchestral Suites. After years in the service of various church employers, he let loose with a bit of Gallic flair, trying his hand at writing in various styles of French dance music.

In each Orchestral Suite, Bach brings his usual mathematical precision and endless melodic invention to the gigues, gavottes and minuets that were the popular music of the day.

This concert also features a rare outing for the oboe’s more serene big brother, the oboe d’amore, with Katharina Spreckelsen playing Bach’s concerto for the instrument.

Venue details

Book now

No Comments