Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Instagram Rss YouTube
Get news and offers Search...

Sat 23 Mar 2019

The National Concert Hall, Dublin

Brahms Piano Concerto no.1, with Sir András Schiff

Time: 8:00pm

Admission: €35-€70

Venue website: view

Venue telephone: +353 (0)1 417 0077

Book now Close

Schumann Konzertstück for Four Horns
Schumann Symphony No.4
Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1

Sir András Schiff conductor/ piano

One of the world’s best pianists plays some of world’s best piano music.

Written 22 years apart, Brahms’ piano concertos are snapshots of his life. The first is youthful, raw and expressive; the second is mature, structured and wiser. Both embody radical ideas of the 19th century, when revolution was in the air and artists joined political movements to overturn the old order.

We perform Brahms’ blockbuster Piano Concerto no.1 with Sir András Schiff, an extraordinary pianist and one of the world’s finest musicians. To complement the piano concerto he also conducts music by Brahm’s mentor and inspiration, Robert Schumann, exploring the complex interplay between political turmoil and personal anguish in composer’s life.

This concert features Schumann’s spectacular Konzertstück for Four Horns. Watch the video to hear our Principal Horn, Roger Montgomery, play all four parts of one section simultaneously. He also introduces the replica 19th century horn he’s had made especially for the concert. 

Venue details

Nearest Dart station: Pearse Street Station
Book now

No Comments