Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Instagram Rss YouTube
Get news and offers Search...

Wed 20 Mar 2019

The Anvil, Basingstoke

Brahms Piano Concerto no.1

Time: 7:45pm

Admission: £11-£41

Venue website: view

Venue telephone: 01256 844244

Book now Close

Schumann Konzertstück for Four Horns
Schumann Symphony No.4
Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1

Sir András Schiff conductor/ piano

One of the world’s best pianists, Sir András Schiff, plays some of world’s best piano music.

Written 22 years apart, Brahms’ only piano concertos are snapshots of his life. The first is youthful, raw and expressive; the second is mature, structured and wiser. Both embody radical ideas of the 19th century, when revolution was in the air and artists joined political movements to overturn the old order.

The OAE performs Brahms’ blockbuster Piano Concerto no.1 with Sir András Schiff, an extraordinary pianist and one of the world’s finest musicians. To complement the piano concerto he also conducts music by Brahm’s mentor and inspiration, Robert Schumman, exploring the complex interplay between political turmoil and personal anguish in composer’s life.

Venue details

Book now

No Comments