What is enlightenment?

An Evening with Bach, Bristol

Order and moderation versus rebellion and sensuality in Bach's Orchestral Suites.
Bristol, St George's Bristol £5 - £30 Book now

Bach Sinfonia from the cantata Am Abend aber desselbigen Sabbats
Bach Concerto for Three Violins (transcribed by Huw Daniel)
Bach Concerto for Oboe and Violin
Bach Orchestral Suite No. 1
Bach Concerto for Two Violins

Margaret Faultless violin
Huw Daniel violin
Katharina Spreckelsen oboe

In between the battling forces of order and rebellion probably lies that elusive ideal we call happiness. For us, that balance of pleasures is found above all in Bach, especially the Orchestral Suites, with their blend of French dance, Italian virtuosity and German tradition, which we perform here alongside other celebrated works including the Concerto for Two Violins.